The Car

The concept of creating a fun and affordable “spec” class of racing for anyone to participate in was born when the first Legend Car was unveiled at Charlotte Motor Speedway in April, 1992. A “spec” series means that all cars are mechanically identical, except for the body style.

Legend Cars are 5/8-scale, fiberglass, full-fendered replicas of the famed NASCAR modifieds driven by legendary drivers such as Fireball Roberts, Buck Baker, Curtis Turner, Speedy Thompson and Banjo Matthews, and powered by a 1,250cc Yamaha motorcycle engine.

They have become one of the fastest growing segments of motorsports today. With drivers being classified into four different divisions, Legends are THE racing opportunity that is available to anyone.

• The Pro Division is for the experienced drivers
• The Masters Division features drivers 40 years and older
• The Semi-Pro Division is the novice class, featuring drivers that are new to the sport or have been inactive in other forms of racing for a while
• The Young Lions Division is for drivers between the ages of 12 and 16
• There are separate nationals for dirt and asphalt cars.

Since the car stays the same from division to division, it is the driver that makes the difference.

Legend Car drivers who have raced in NASCAR include Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Reed Sorenson, David Ragan and Kurt Busch.


Wheelbase – 73.00”
Overall Width – 60.00”
Overall Length – 10’ 6”
Height – 46”
Engine – Yamaha 1,250cc (sealed)
Horsepower – 132hp
Weight – 1,300lb with driver
Tires – 205/13R60 Federal Tires 595
Wheels – Width: 7” / Diameter: 13”
Suspension – Coil over with Bilstein shock absorbers
Frame – Full tubeframe with integral rollcage
Harness – G-Force five-point

For more information on Legend Car racing, visit